Mikael Colville-Andersen at Cycle Chic notes the impact his blog has had on global culture. This isn’t a puff piece nor is it really an ego stroke. Its a blunt assessment of where Cycle Chic has penetrated global consciousness and where it hasn’t and why.

In late 2006, the bicycle didn’t exist in the wider public consciousness anywhere in the world. It had largely been forgotten in vast swathes of the planet. In many cases an entire generation had forgotten the simple imagery of Citizen Cyclists riding bicycles in their regular clothes. As transport, not some hobbyist weekend activity. This blog changed all that. This is where Cycle Chic was founded. Where the phrase was coined.

The class distinctions between hipster cyclists and spandex clad enthusiasts over the basic work-a-day cyclist are an important problem that Mikael points to. The sub-cultures that act as gate-keepers blocking the widespread adoption of cycling as a viable transportation alternative are precisely why we need a blog like Cycle Chic and Copenhagenize.com.We need to break this down. Riding a bike is a political statement and just as one rider turns his nose up at a delivery bike, another embraces it, because its a part of their life.

My own blog is more about the politics and travails of trying to work the bicycle into my own life. When I was in high-school my mountain bike was my mount of choice. And then I got lazy. I didn’t see how it was a better tool than a car. I’ve come back to it now over a decade later. And Cycle Chic was one of my points of reference for figuring out what kind of cyclist I wanted to be. Thank you Mikael. Happy Birthday Cycle Chic. Thank you both.

via Cycle Chic™ – The Original from Copenhagen.: The Value of Cycle Chic.

