Bill Reynolds in the Toronto Standard notes with some shock that Torontonians seem to have taken the fact that we have an anti-bike mayor as precisely the moment to start bicycle commuting.

I am begining to suspect that he’s right. I’ve pounded out a fair number of kilometers in the past 18 months, and this city has gone from being complacent to down-right bi-(cycle)curious.

I’ve seen no fewer than 5 cobbled-together cargo bikes on my regular routes west of Bathurst. My local Y has no fewer than 8 dutch-style granny-bikes in various paint jobs from orange through dog-shit brown. Almost all of them have child seats of some configuration strapped to them.

I cannot ride anywhere in the core without being in someone’s way or passing an even slower cyclist. It’s beautiful.

Wheels of Misfortune | Toronto Standard | News, Media, Art, Business, Technology, Fashion, Events

