Cycling fits poorly into modern traffic rules. A New York cyclist (and NYT columnist Randy Cohen) explains some of the ethical falsehoods of treating bikes the same as cars, or even pedestrians. The Kantian categorical imperative as applied to the modern cyclist. Its an interesting idea.

But most of the resentment of rule-breaking riders like me, I suspect, derives from a false analogy: conceiving of bicycles as akin to cars. In this view, bikes must be regulated like cars, and vilified when riders flout those regulations, as if we were cunningly getting away with something. But bikes are not cars. Cars drive three or four times as fast and weigh 200 times as much. Drive dangerously, you’re apt to injure others; ride dangerously, I’m apt to injure myself. I have skin in the game. And blood. And bones.

 

